Auckland Pride Festival Trust


During 2011, a series of public meetings was held within Auckland’s Rainbow Community (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Takatāpui, Intersex, Fa’afafine) to assess the community’s desire to develop an annual ‘gay pride’ festival.

This process of consultation and development received broad political support from local and national leaders. All expressed a commitment to ensure that Auckland’s Rainbow Community thrives and is actively supported and recognised for the strengths, diversity and colour it brings to New Zealand’s super city.

With solid community and political support onboard, an organising committee was established to seek core funding for a two week Pride Festival and Parade in February 2013.

In June 2012, essential funding was approved by ATEED (Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development) and Auckland Council to coordinate and promote a full festival with flagship events aimed at local, national and international Rainbow Communities, as well as the residents of greater Auckland.

The Auckland Pride Festival Trust was established to operate as a governance body, recruiting a Board of seven Trustees with experience in business management, event management, public relations, marketing, sponsorship, legal, financial management, and community relationships.

The Trustees will manage the various aspects of mounting the new Auckland Pride Festival, including the appointment of key coordinators to deliver the Auckland Pride Festival and Parade in 2013.

Our Vision

To develop the mana and standing of the Rainbow Community and enhance the cultural richness of Auckland, and Aotearoa at large.

Our Mission

To facilitate New Zealand’s pre-eminent festival for the Rainbow Community to celebrate their culture, sexual orientation and gender identity.

Auckland Pride Festival Trustees

David Coltman (co-chair)

Megan Cunningham-Adams (co-chair)

Linda Heavey

Andy Jalfon

Lexie Matheson

Gurv Singh

Julie Swift

Auckland Pride Festival 2014 Directors

Auckland Pride Festival Director – Julian Cook

Auckland Pride Parade Director – Richard Taki